New MV: Secret Wants A “Shy Boy”

Credit: KyuleeKPOPMV

I started liking Secret after hearing “Magic” back when it came out sometime in March of 2010. Aside from their pronunciation of magic, I really liked the song and they kind of reminded me of Brown Eyed Girls when they debuted. I was very excited to see what they were going to bring to Kpop in 2010.

Then they came out with “Madonna” and I was a little disappointed that it looked and sounded like “Magic” but with a show girl feel. Even though I was disappointed with the promotion I was willing to give this group another chance since they can sing and I like their personalities on variety shows.

Now their new MV for the title track “Shy Boy” was released today and I have to say…the video is horrible. The song is like every other cutesy girl group track and the video looks like a “Grease” knockoff with about 50 gallons of paint dumped over it. And while I’m thinking of the set, is it just me or did I see that same set in Lee Hyori’s “U Go Girl”? Maybe it’s just me.

I’m also getting sick and tired of all the MV’s that just have no story or any sort of concept to them. It’s fine if you’re a debut group, but by the third video you should have more to them than just the group dancing around while acting cute or sexy. IT’S BORING!

I’m sad to say there is absolutely nothing I like about the song or the video. I really hope they step it up the next album because they can sing and it’s just being wasted on a junk song and a terrible MV.

1 star out of 5

The ROL

This entry was posted in Korea, Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

